Extreme Festival serves up thrilling season opener in Killarney

The 2022 Extreme Festival series kicked off in style on Saturday at the Western Cape Killarney circuit, treating a large, enthusiastic crowd to a packed program of spectacular motorsports.

The top prize went to the Global Touring Car category, where defending champion Robert Wolk (Chemical Logistics Toyota Corolla), won the first race against Daniel Rowe (Volkswagen Motorsport Golf GTI), Bradley Liebenberg (Hype Sparco Audi S3), Michael van Rooyen (Gazoo Toyota Corolla), Mandla Mdakane (Gazoo Toyota Corolla) and Julian van der Watt (AutoZone Ford Focus).

Race two, started from an inverted grid, was red flagged as Liebenberg’s Audi was tapped, spun and gathered tightly by Saood Variawa and Mdakane’s Toyotas.

After the restart, Julian van der Watt took his Focus to victory, closely followed by Wolk, Rowe, Andrew Rackstraw (RDSA Audi S3), a recovered Variawa and Jonathan Mogotsi (Volkswagen Motorsport Golf GTI). After several driving protests, the GTC results are provisional.

2022 Extreme Festival Killarney opener results
Jeffrey Kruger (Universal SupaPolo) was on the podium after both SupaCup races. Photo: Reynaert Gelderblom.

Keagan Masters (Motul SupaPolo) won the opening race of the SupaCup, chased by Jeffrey Kruger (Universal SupaPolo), Leyton Fourie (Express Hire SupaPolo) and Keegan Campos (Turn 1 SupaPolo).

The race caused the biggest crash of the day when the vehicles of Nathan Hammond, Andre’ Bezuidenhout and Sam Hammond converged at about 140 km/h, causing Nathan’s car to roll over.

He wasn’t injured, but the SupaPolo went to that final pit stop in the air. Kruger won race two, slightly ahead of Fourie, Masters and Campos.

The first CompCare PoloCup heat went to Tate Bishop (Angri Polo), closely followed by Jurie Swart (Bullion Polo) and Giordano Lupini (Bullion Polo).

ALSO READ: Killarney gears up for Extreme Festival season opener

Swart won race two against Dawie van der Merwe (Universal Polo) and Charl Visser (Universal Polo). Bishop again won the third timeout and led home Swart and Lupini.

Jonathan du Toit dragged his new Lamborghini Huracan to a convincing victory in the first G&H Transport Extreme Supercar race, followed by Charl Arangies (Stradale Nissan GT-R) and Dayne Angel (Autohaus Angel Ferrari 488).

Pre-event favorite Franco Scribante (Porsche 911) retired with electronic ailments in the warm-up lap. However, Scribante came back in race two and won ahead of Du Toit and Arangies. The Porsche driver also scored the day’s overall victory over Du Toit and Angel.

Brothers Gerald and Antwan Geldenhuys, both in Abacus Mygales, finished first and second in the opening race of Investchem F1600, leading Nicholas van Weely (Magnificent Paints Van Diemen) home.

2022 Extreme Festival Killarney opener results
The first CompCare PoloCup heat went to Tate Bishop (Angri Polo), closely followed by Jurie Swart (Bullion Polo) and Giordano Lupini (Bullion Polo).

Race two went to Josh le Roux (RDSA Formula 1600), followed by Antwan Geldenhuis and Troy Dolinschek (RBR Mygale).

Capetonians Trevor Westman (Wayward ZX10) and Ronald Slamet (Vaultmarkets ZX10) swapped first and second places in the respective SunBet ZX10 Masters race, both times for David Enticott (Kawasaki ZX10).

Ashley Oldfield won both the inaugural Toyota Gazoo Racing Cup races of Deon Joubert and Thomas Falkiner.

The next round of the 2022 National Extreme Festival will take place on April 23 at Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *